Back to country selector
Constitutional history of
The federation of Malaysia is comprised of 13 states and 3 federal territories on the Malay Peninsula and on the northern part of the island of Borneo. The country is bordered by Thailand and the South China Sea on the north, and the straits of Malacca and Singapore on the south. It covers nearly 330,000 square kilometres and is home to approximately 28.7 million people. Its capital of Kuala Lumpur contains almost 1.5 million people. The majority of the population is ethnic Malay, though a powerful Chinese minority also inhabits the territory. Islam is the largest religion, but Christianity, Hindu, Buddhism, and some traditional Chinese religions are also practiced.