Back to overview

Constitution of the Third Repubuc of Ghana (Promulgation) Decree, 1979

This document is the Constitution of the Republic of Ghana from 1979. It includes chapters on the Constitution itself, the laws and the territories of Ghana.  It also details the directive principles of State Policy, citizenship, fundamental human rights, representation of the people, the Executive branch, the legislature, the Council of the State, the ombudsman, and the Judiciary.  There are also chapters on finance, public services, prison services, the Armed Forces, the police service, the national service, chieftaincy, local government and administration, land, the Press Commission, Commissions of inquiry, the Code of Conduct for public officers, and Amendments to the Constitution.