The Constitutional Commission

The Commission will consist of approximately 30 commissioners appointed by the President after broad consultations. The President will also appoint the Chair of the Commission from among the commissioners. The primary responsibilities of the Commission are to consult widely with the people of Afghanistan and produce a Draft Constitution by 30 August 2003 for submission to the Constitutional Loya Jirga in October. The Commission's functions will include:

- preparing and publishing the Draft Constitution;
- facilitating and promoting public information on the constitution-making process during the entire period of its work;
- conducting public consultations in each province of Afghanistan, and among Afghan refugees in Iran and Pakistan and, where possible, other countries, to solicit the views of Afghans regarding their national aspirations;
- receiving written submissions from individuals and groups of Afghans within and outside the country wishing to contribute to the constitutional process;
- conducting or commissioning studies concerning options for the Draft Constitution;
- preparing a report analyzing the views of Afghans gathered during public consultations and making the report available to the public; and
- educating the public on the Draft Constitution by returning to all of the provinces of Afghanistan and to the refugee populations in Iran and Pakistan.

The Commission will ensure broad participation of women in the constitutional-making process. The Constitutional Drafting Commission consists of nine members including two women. The representation of women will increase in the soon to be established Commission. The women commissioners will lead, where possible, consultations with women in light of culture sensitivities in some areas. The Commission will also educate the public through their regional and provincial staff to inform women and other groups about the need for women's involvement in the process. The staff will also identify suitable venues, times and ways of meeting and/or communicating with the Commission.

The Commission will be working closely with the Ministry of Women Affairs, which together with UNIFEM, is collecting inputs, holding seminars and other public education programs about the constitutional rights of women. Further, the Commission will liase with the women civil society organizations that will put at the disposal of the Commission a broad network of their grass root organizations. Gender balance is also a priority for the selection of the regional consultation teams.

Members of the Constitutional Commission:

- Prof. Niamatullah Shahrani
- Prof.Abdul Salam Azimi
- Prof. Mohammad Musa Marufi
- Dr. Mohammad Rahim Shirzoy

- Mohammd Musa Ashari
- Mohammd Sarwar Danish
- Dr. Abdul Hai Elahi
- Mohammad Ashraf Rasooli
- Abdul Haq Waala
- Prof. Abdul Aziz
- Dr. Mohammad Taher Burgai
- Dr. Mohammad Yaqub Wahidi
- Wakil Shamsuddin
- Dr. Ishaq Zai
- Qazi Amin Weqaad
- Eng. Mohammad Akram
- Prof. Nader Shah Nik Yaar
- Likraaj
- Ms.Amena Afzali
- Ms.Fatema Gailani
- Solaiman
- Muhammd Sediq Patman
- Ms.Shukrya Barakzai
- Ms.Sediqa Balkhi
- Dr. Hashim Kamali
- Ms. Parwin Mumand
- Dr.Muhammad Amin Ahmadi
- Mir Muhammad Afzal
- Abdul Rahman Khurasani
- Ms.Parwin Ali Majruh
- Ms. Hakema Mashal
- Dawoood Musa
- Nader Ali Mehdawii
- Mohammad Taher Hasimi
- Eng. Merajuddin