Eight-point Agreement of the top leaders (Press Statement)

Meeting of the top leaders of Seven Political Parties and CPN (Maoists) has been held in the Prime Minister's residence at Baluwatar today, on 16 June 2006 on the auspicious organization of the Government - Maoists Negotiating Team. The points reached in agreement in the meeting are as follow:-

- 1. To implement effectively and honestly the 12-points understanding reached between the Seven Political Parties and the CPN (Maoists) on November 23, 2005 and the 25-points Code of Conduct on Ceasefire reached in agreement between the Government of Nepal and CPN (Maoists) and made public by the Government -Maoist Negotiating team on 26 May 2006.
- 2. To express the commitment to democratic norms and values including competitive multi-party governance system, civic liberties, fundamental rights, human rights, press freedom, and the concept of rule of law, and carry out each other's activities accordingly in a peaceful manner.
- 3. To request the United Nations to assist in the management of the armies and arms of both the parties and to monitor them for a free and fair election of the Constituent Assembly.
- 4. To frame an interim constitution to form an interim government accordingly; announce the date of the election for constituent assembly to dissolve the House of Representatives by making another alternative arrangement through consensus and to dissolve the People's Governments formed by the CPN (Maoists). by ensuring the democratic rights achieved through the Peoples Movement in 1990 and the recent historic People's Movement, and by making base to the commitment

- expressed in the 12-points understanding and the spirit of the preamble of the Code of Conduct on Ceasefire;
- 5. To decide on the matters of national interests having long-term effects on the basis of consensus.
- 6. To guarantee the fundamental right of Nepali people to participate in the constitution making process without any fear, influence, threat and violence in the election of constituent assembly. To make a provision for international observation and monitoring during the elections as per the need.
- 7. To make a forward-looking restructuring of the state so as to resolve the class-based, racial, regional and gender-based problems through the election of constituent assembly. To transform the ceasefire held between the Government of Nepal and CPN(Maoists) into a permanent peace by keeping in the centre the democracy, peace, prosperity, progress and the independence, sovereignty and dignity of the country, and to express commitment to resolve the problem through negotiations.
- 8. The government-Maoist negotiating teams have been directed to accomplish all the tasks related to the above-mentioned points without any delay.

On behalf of CPN (Maoists)	On behalf of the Seven Political
	Parties
Prachanda	Shree Girija Prasad Koirala
Chairman	Prime Minister and President,
CPN (Maoists)	Nepali Congress
	Shree Madhav Kumar Nepal

General Secretary,

CPN (UML)

Shree Sher Bahadur Deuba

President,

Nepali Congress (Democratic)

Shree Amik Sherchan

Deputy Prime Minister and

Chairperson,

Janamorcha Nepal

Shree Narayan Man Bijhuckchhe

President,

Nepal Majdur Kisan Party

Shree Bharat Bimal Yadav

Vice President,

Nepal Sadbhavana Party (Anandidevi)

Shree Prabhu Narayan Chaudary

Minister and Chairperson

Bammorcha, Nepal.

16 May 2006