Joint Communiqué of the Consultative Meeting of the Signatories of the Process for Ending the Transition

22 June 2012, Nairobi

The Signatories of the Roadmap for Ending the Transition in Somalia met from 20 to 22 June 2012 in Nairobi, Kenya, to consult each other on the End of transition process in particular to address a number of outstanding issues and to finalize the agreements reached at the meeting held in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, from 21 to 23 May 2012.

The meeting was facilitated by the United Nations under the auspices of the Special Representative of the Secretary-General for Somalia, Ambassador Augustine P. Mahiga.

The meeting in Nairobi was attended by the principle signatories of the roadmap: President Sheikh Sharif Sheikh Ahmed of the Transitional Federal Government of Somalia; Honourable Sharif Hassan Sheikh Aden, Speaker of the Transitional Federal Parliament; Prime Minister Abdiweli Mohamed Ali;; President Abdirahman Mohamed Mohamoud 'Farole' of Puntland; President Mohamed Ahmed Alin of Galmudug; and, representatives of Ahlu Sunna Wal Jama'a.

1. Protocols to end the transition

The Signatories discussed, reviewed and approved the Protocols to end the transition drafted by the Signatories' Technical Revision Committee established under the Addis Abba agreement in May 2012.

Therefore, the signatories signed the following Protocols:

- 1. Protocol on the Technical Selection Committee;
- 2. Protocol establishing the Technical Facilitation Committee;
- 3. Protocol establishing the National Constituent Assembly;
- 4. Protocol establishing a new Somali Federal Parliament.

The President also signed a Decree, witnessed by the Signatories, establishing a legal framework to conclude the constitutional making process through provisional adoption of the constitution by the National Constituent Assembly.

2. Draft Provisional Constitution

The signatories have collectively initialled the revised draft Provisional Constitution finalized by the Signatories' Technical Revision Committee established in Addis Ababa. This is now the official draft of the Provisional Constitution. The Committee has now been renamed the Technical Facilitation Committee and is chaired by the Minister of Constitutional Affairs and Reconciliation.

Before the draft is handed over to the National Constituent Assembly, a four-day programme of civic education on the final draft will be undertaken by the IFCC. The IFCC will then hand over the draft back to the Technical Facilitation Committee, which is the body responsible for presenting the draft to the National Constituent Assembly.

3. National Constituent Assembly

The National Constituent Assembly (NCA) will now convene on 12 July 2012 and will conclude its work on 20 July. The NCA will dissolve when it concludes its deliberations by voting on the draft for provisional adoption prior to eventual approval by the Somali people through a direct referendum.

4. Establishment of committees on ending the transitional period

As per the agreement reached by the Signatories in Addis Ababa, the members of the following committees have now been selected:

- a) Technical Selection Committee;
- b) Elders Arbitration Committee;
- c) Technical Facilitation Committee;
- d) Roadmap Signatories Coordination Office.

The names of the members of the above committees will be made public immediately by the TFG/TFIs.

5. The remainder of the transitional period

The Signatories have collectively committed to meet the deadlines stipulated under the Addis Ababa agreement and expressed their collective resolve in ending the transition and ushering in a new political dispensation under a provisional Constitution adopted by the National Constituent Assembly.