CONSTITUTIONAL ASSEMBLY SUPPLEMENTARY REPORT THIRD MEETING SUBTHEME COMMITTEE 1 THEME COMMITTEE 6 SPECIALISED STRUCTURES OF GOVERNMENT WEDNESDAY 2 NOVEMBER 1994 (AT 14H00)

1. OPENING AND WELCOME

The meeting was opened by Mr Vadi at 14h05, who explained the purpose as being the submission of names of experts on Public Service by Parties.

2. NOMINATION OF EXPERTS

The following persons were nominated:

- **2.1 ANC**: List still to be supplied
- 2.2 NP :

 Mr L Cluwer (Formerly Director-General of the Department of Public Service and Administration)
 - Prof P van der Merwe (Professor Emeritus -University of Pretoria)
- 2.3 IFP :

 Adv. Ndokweni (Department of Justice Kwazulu-Natal)
 - Mr D Ntshangase (Department of Justice Kwazulu-Natal)
- **2.4 DP** :

 Mr GS Cloete (Department of Public Management University of Stellenbosch)
 - Prof C Thornhill (Department of Public Administration - University of Pretoria).

The above list is not exhaustive, further nominations are expected from parties that have not as yet put forward their lists of experts. These lists must reach the Secretariat by no later than 18h00 on Wednesday, the 2nd November 1994.

3. WORKSHOP ON THE CIVIL SERVICE

- 3.1 It was agreed that the Secretariat should make arrangements for a workshop on civil service to be held, over 2 days, in late January or early February 1995.
- 3.2 The Workshop must be structured in such a way as to accommodate inputs from Specialists and Civil Society, taking into account the cost implications of this exercise.

* * * * * *