CONSTITUTIONAL ASSEMBLY MINUTES OF THE FOURTH MEETING OF THEME COMMITTEE 1

CHARACTER OF THE DEMOCRATIC STATE WEDNESDAY 01 FEBRUARY 1995 (08H30)

Present Marais P G (Chairperson)

Booi M S Chiba L
Chikane M M Chiwayo L L L
Cwele C S Dyani M M
Goosen A D Gumede A D
Hangana N E Kekana N N

Janse Van Rensburg A P Lekgoro M K
Mabuza M C Macozoma S J
Mahlangu N J Marais A

Moorcroft E K Mokaba P

Meshoe R K Mokaba P Mtshali L P H M

Momberg J H Mukhuba T T
Mulder P A W Ncube B
Niehaus C G Nobunga B J

Routledge N C Schoeman E A
Seaton S Sisulu A N
Van Deventer F J Van Zyl I D
Vilakazi B H Williams A J

L Rammble and K Radu were in attendance.

1. OPENING

The meeting was opened by the Chairperson.

2. Minutes of the previous meeting

The meeting adopted the minutes, noting Mr Momberg's unacknowledged apology.

3. Matters arising

It was agreed, that a sub-committee which would draft the reports for the CC should be formed. The committee would comprise of 2 members from the majority party and 1 from each other party. Parties had to submit the names of the members of the sub-committee to the Secretariat by the 2 February 1995.

4. Appointment of Technical experts

On Monday 6 February 1995, a workshop has been arranged in order to brief the technical experts and to familiarise them with the process. On Tuesday, 7 February they will be made available to the all the Theme Committees.

5. Discussion on Party submissions

The parties continued talking to their submissions. They were also allowed to raise questions and points of clarification, it was emphasised that intensive debates would be invited during discussions on substantive issues.

6. General

The commencing time for meetings of the Theme Committee was changed from 08h30 to 09h00.

It was also announced that both the PAC and the ACDP would talk to their submissions in the meeting of 7 February 1995.

7. Closure

The meeting rose at 09H00.