To amend the Constitution of the Republic of South Africa, 1993, so as to effect certain amendments to the boundaries of the Northern Province and of the Province of Mpumalanga; and to provide for matters connected therewith.

Be it enacted by the Parliament of the Republic of South Africa, as follows-

Amendment of Schedule 1 to Act 200 of 1993

- 1. Schedule 1 to the Constitution of the Republic of South Africa, 1993 (Act No.200 of 1993), is herby amended-
 - (a) in Part 1-
 - (i) by the insertion in paragraph (a) of the definition of the Northern Province after the word "Ellisras" of the word "Groblersdal"
 - (ii) by the substitution for paragraph (b) of the definition of the Northern Province of the following paragraph:
 - "(b) The area for which the Gazankulu Legislative Assembly has been instituted in terms of section 1 of the Self-governing Territories Constitution Act, 1971 (Act No.21 of 1971), excluding the Mala district;";
 - (iii) by the substitution for the words preceding subparagraph (i) of paragraph (c) of the definition of the Northern Province of the following words: "The area for which the Lebowa Legislative Assembly has been instituted in terms of section 1 of the Self-governing Territories Constitution Act, 1971 (Act No. 21 of 1971), excluding the <u>Mapumaleng</u> <u>district and the</u> area consisting of the following properties-";
 - (iv) by the deletion in paragraph (a) of the definition of the Provinces of Mpumalanga of the word "Groblersdal";
 - (v) by the substitution for all the words preceding subparagraph (i) of paragraph (d) of the definition of the Province of Mpumalanga of the following words:

"As well as the <u>Mapumaleng district and the</u> following properties forming part of the area for which the Lebowa Legislative Self-governing Territories Constitution Act 1971 (Act No. 21 of 1971):"; and

- (vi) by the addition to the definition of the Province of Mpumalanga of the following paragraph:
 - "(e) The Mala district forming part of the area for which the Gazankulu Legislative Assembly has been instituted in terms of section 1 of the Self-governing Territories Constitution Act, 1971 (Act No. 21 of 1971)."; and
- (b) in Part 2, by the deletion of paragraphs (a) and (c).

Transitional Arrangement

2. Any provision of any law relating to any matter which falls within the functional sphere of

provincial legislatures and which applies in any area which, in terms of section 1 of the Constitution of the Republic of South Africa Fourth Amendment Act, 1996, is excluded from the provincial territory of one province and is included in the provincial territory of another province, shall continue so to apply until such provision is amended or repealed by the legislature of the latter province.

Short title

3. This Act shall be called the Constitution of the Republic of South Africa Fourth Amendment Act, 1996.