REGISTRATION AND SWEARING IN



Part of the NCC members swearing in at Mulungushi International Conference Centre on December 13, 2007

Registration of members started on Sunday December 9, 2007 at Mulungushi International Conference Centre and is still on for those who have not yet registered.

Two swearing in ceremonies were conducted by his Lordship the Chief Justice Mr. Ernest Sakala on Thursday December 13 and Tuesday December 18, 2007 respectively.

In his message to the members, the Chief Justice called upon all the members to ensure that they perform their functions faithfully, impartially, fully and to the best of their ability in accordance with the oath they had taken.

Mr. Sakala also urged the members to show unity in diversity and produce a document that will be accepted by people from all walks of life including those that have chosen to boycott the proceedings.

A total of 460 members have been registered and successfully sworn in. The breakdown of these is as follows:

One hundred and thirty-nine (139) Members of Parliament (MPs) out of the expected 158 with only 16 boycotting, all from the Patriotic Front as well as one seat for Kanyama which is vacant following the recent death of the Member of Parliament Hon. Henry Mtonga.

Seventy-one (71) Councilors, with only one for Mpika who has boycotted

All the expected 18 Chiefs have been registered and sworn in.

Two hundred and thirty-five (235) other members, who include those representing other church mother bodies, Non-Governmental Organizations (NGOs), professional bodies and public institutions, have also registered and been sworn in.



His Lordship the Chief Justice Ernest Sakala addressing NCC members during the swearing in ceremony at Mulungushi International Conference Centre in Lusaka

The Secretary to the Conference Mr. Russell Mulele and his three deputies were also sworn in on December 13, 2007 by His Lordship the Chief Justice Ernest Sakala. The Deputies are Mrs. Thandiwe Otteng, Mr. Newton N'guni and Mrs. Margaret Bwaanga.



From left to right: Mr. M. R. Mulele (NCC Secretary), with deputy Secretaries Mr. Newton N'guni, Mrs. Margaret Bwaanga and Mrs. Thandiwe Otteng

COMMENCEMENT OF SITTINGS



President Mwanawasa addressing NCC members during the official opening of the Conference On December 19, 2007.

The sittings commenced on Wednesday, December 19, 2007 at 08:30 hours.

The commencement of the sittings was preceded by an address by His Excellency the President of the Republic of Zambia Dr Levy Patrick Mwanawasa SC.

The President reminded the Conference members that the NCC is a solemn and privileged responsibility that must be discharged in a responsible, objective, non-partisan and patriotic manner bearing in mind that in this exercise, national interest takes precedence over anything else.

Dr Mwanawasa said that the NCC is a democratic process in which government seeks to consult the people on the issue of how they wanted their country to be governed.

He reminded the conference members that the process was not only for their benefit but that it was for the benefit of the country and future generations.

The President urged members to come up with a document which any government will find acceptable to work with and a useful guide in the discharge of national duties as well as a document that will protect the rights of the people individually and severally.

NOMINATIONS AND ELECTIONS OF CHAIRPERSON AND SPOKESPERSON

On Thursday December 20, 2007, elections were conducted by the Electoral Commission of Zambia and Mr. Chifumu Banda Member of Parliament for Chasefu was elected.

At the end of the nominations Mrs. Mwangala Zaloumis emerged unopposed as spokesperson while two other members filed in their nominations for the position of Chairperson.

Nominations for positions of three (03) vice chairpersons two (2) of whom were to be women and one man were conducted.

Hon. Regina Musokotwane, MP for Katombora, Hon. Faustina Sinyangwe, MP for Matero and Mr. Leonard Hikaumba, Zambia Congress of Trade Union (ZCTU) President, were elected as Vice Chairpersons.

All these proceedings leading to the elections were convened by Justice Minister Hon. George Kunda who later handed over the instruments of power to the Chairperson Hon. Chifumu Banda



Hon. Chifumu Banda, NCC Chairperson

CHAIRPERSON'S INAUGURAL SPEECH

In accepting the position of Chairperson, Mr. Banda assured the members that he, along with his colleagues the Vice Chairpersons, will discharge their duties in a manner that will ensure that members would give their best in coming up with a Constitution that all Zambians will be proud of. Mr. Banda urged members to remain focused to the fact that their function is to debate and adopt the draft constitution before submitting it to Parliament for enactment.

Mr. Banda urged all the members to remain focused to the fact that their function is to debate and adopt the draft constitution before submitting it to Parliament for Enactment.

"It is of paramount importance, ladies and gentlemen that our diverse backgrounds should not hinder but enrich our full and honest participation in this conference," Mr. Banda said.

SETTING UP OF AN INTERIM COMMITTEE

A 15 member interim committee was formed to formulate rules and regulations to guide the proceedings of the conference and to set up specialized committees. The Chairperson of the interim committee is Dr Patrick Matibini while Dr Kazembe from the Zambia Army is the Vice Chairperson.

The other members of the interim committee are:-

- 1. Mr. Dante Saunders We the People.
- 2. Pastor Godfridah Sumaili Children in Need Network.
- 3. Mr. Muyunda Ililonga -Zambia Consumers Association.
- 4. Bishop Dr Peter R. Ndlovu Bible Gospel
- 5. Mr. Sage Samuwika -Zambia National Students Union
- 7. Abel Mkandawire Zambia Association of Chamber of Commerce and Industry.
- 8. Ms. Nellie Mutti Law Association of Zambia
- 9. Mr. Stanely M'hango -Foundation for Democratic Process
- 10. Mr. Bonnie Tembo Anti Voter Apathy
- 11. Rev. Fostone Sakala Senior Citizen
- 12. Mr. Felix Simulunga Zambia Federation of the Disabled
- 13. Mrs. Cecilia. N. Mbewe National Assembly
- 14. Mrs Euphrasia Mbewe Association of Differently Abled Persons

The sittings were adjourned to Tuesday January 8, 2008 at 14 hours.



INFORMATION BROCHURE

NATIONAL CONSTITUTIONAL CONFERENCE (NCC)

(ENGLISH)

National Constitutional Conference (NCC) Mulungushi International Conference Centre P. O. Box 51261 Lusaka.

Tel: 0211-293082/ 293083/ 293940

DECEMBER 19 - 21, 2007

(NCC FIRST SITTINGS)