In South Africa, government gazettes constitutional amendment to recognize South African Sign Language as 12th official language

By Business Tech, 21 July
Parliament building in South Africa (photo credit:
Parliament building in South Africa (photo credit:
The minister of justice and correctional services has gazetted a constitutional amendment for public comment, which will make South African Sign Language (SASL) an official language. The gazetted amendment – titled the ‘Constitution Eighteenth Amendment Bill 2022’ – is set to change section 6 of the Constitution to provide for the legal recognition of SASL. Currently, the Constitution lists 11 official languages, namely: Sepedi, Sesotho, Setswana, siSwati, Tshivenda, Xitsonga, Afrikaans, English, isiNdebele, isiXhosa and isiZulu. Incorporating SASL has been mooted for a number of years with a parliamentary committee proposing its adoption in 2020. The amendment was previously approved (26 May) by President Cyril Ramaphosa with the Department of Basic Education announcing the introduction of SASL into the school curriculum the same month.
Read the full article here: Business Tech


Post new comment