Members of Sri Lanka's Constitutional Council nominated for new term

12 October 2018
photo credit: Mahinda Rajapaksa/flickr
photo credit: Mahinda Rajapaksa/flickr
Sri Lanka Parliament today approved the nomination of non-Members of Parliament to the Constitutional Council, Sri Lanka's constitutional authority for the new term. The parliament approved the nominations of former diplomat and Senior Special Advisor on Foreign Relations to President Maithripala Sirisena Dr. Jayantha Dhanapala, Former Sri Lankan Ambassador to Saudi Arabia, Mr. Ahamed Javid Yusuf and Mr. Naganathan Selvakkumaran Senior Lecturer, Faculty of Law, University of Colombo. The nominations were made by both the Prime Minister and the Leader of the Opposition. The official tenure of the ten-member Constitutional Council, Sri Lanka's constitutional authority, ended on 21st September. Under the 19th Amendment to the Constitution, Constitutional Council is the responsible body to appoint members to the independent commissions such as police commission, bribery commission and election commission.
Read the full article here: Colombo Page


Post new comment