التاريخ الدستوري لهنغاريا

يبلغ عدد سكان جمهورية هنغاريا حوالي 10 ملايين نسمة وتقع في وسط أوروبا. تشترك في حدودها مع الجمهوريتين التشيكية والسلوفاكية من الشمال، وأوكرانيا من الشمال الشرقي، ورومانيا من الجانب الشرقي وصربيا وكرواتيا من الجنوب، وسلوفينيا من الجنوب الغربي والنمسا من الغرب. بعد سنوات من الحكم الشيوعي، أصبحت هنغاريا عضواً في منظمة حلف شمال الأطلسي في عام 1999 وانضمت إلى الاتحاد الأوروبي في عام 2004.

النظام السياسي

لهنغاريا نظام حكومة مختلط. رئيس الدولة هو رئيس الجمهورية ورئيس الحكومة هو رئيس الوزراء. تتكون السلطة التشريعية من برلمان ذي مجلس واحد، وهو هيئة مؤلفة حالياً من 386 عضواً، يتم انتخابهم كل أربع سنوات. تناط السلطة القضائية بالمحكمة العليا المسماة "الكوريا" والمحكمة الدستورية.

التاريخ الدستوري

كانت هنغاريا ملكية لما يقرب من 1000 سنة وإنشأت نظاماً دستورياً قبل البلدان الأوروبية الأخرى. وفقدت هنغاريا الكثير من أراضيها وسكانها بعد سقوط الإمبراطورية النمساوية-الهنغارية في نهاية الحرب العالمية الأولى. في 21 مارس عام 1919، تم تأسيس الجمهورية الاشتراكية الهنغارية من قبل ائتلاف من أعضاء الحزب الديمقراطي الاشتراكي الهنغاري والشيوعيين بقيادة بيلا كون. في عام 1932، استولى جيولا جومبوس (Gyula Gömbös) على السلطة وأقام علاقات أوثق مع المانيا النازية. وبعد محاولة فاشلة لتغيير الولاء، احتلت المانيا النازية البلاد في عام 1943. في 20 يناير1945، وافقت حكومة مؤقتة على هدنة مع الاتحاد السوفيتي، وكانت هنغاريا خاضعة لمفوضية سيطرة الحلفاء وأنيطت السلطة المطلقة بمسؤول سوفيتي.

دستور 1949

ومع عام 1949، وكان حزب الشعب العامل الهنغاري قد تولى السيطرة على البلاد بلا منازع. وفي 18 أغسطس 1949، جرى إعتماد الدستور الحالي لجمهورية هنغاريا. وكان هذا هو أول دستور مكتوب للبلاد. وأسست "جمهورية هنغاريا الشعبية" إستناداً الى دستور 1936 السوفياتي. في السنوات التالية، تحول الاقتصاد وفقاً للنموذج السوفيتي وجرى تقييد حرية الصحافة والدين والتجمع. بدت الجمعية الوطنية في دستور عام 1949 الدستور على أنها رسمياً هي الفاعل الرئيسي. وفي حقيقة الأمر، رئاسة أصغرهي التي مثلت هيئة الاشتغال الحقيقية. كان القانون العام في البلاد محكوم الى حد كبير بالمراسيم بدلاً من التشريعات، مع وضع الدستور لعدد محدود من القيود فيما يتعلق بمضمون هذه المراسيم.

تعديلات عام 1989

ولم تجر تغييرات أساسية على دستور عام 1949 الى حين انتهاء الشيوعية في عام 1989. التعديلات المعتمدة حولت هنغاريا من جمهورية شعبية الى جمهورية، وقدمت هنغاريا على أنها دولة ديمقراطية مستقلة تقوم على سيادة القانون. وعلى النقيض من الدول الشيوعية السابقة الأخرى، لم تتبن هنغاريا دستور جديد تماماً بعد نهاية الشيوعية. ومع ذلك، فالديباجة تنص على إن الدستور الحالي لا يخدم سوى كأساس مؤقت للحكومة حتى يتم تبني دستور جديد. وأعطى الدستور المعدل المجلس التشريعي السلطة للسيطرة على السلطة التنفيذية، ونص على التعددية الحزبية وأنشأ محكمة دستورية لها سلطة مراجعة دستورية النصوص القانونية. وعلاوة على ذلك، استبدل اقتصاد السوق الاجتماعي النموذج الاشتراكي السابق. تم إجراء عدة تعديلات على الدستورمن عام 1989 فصاعداً.

مشروع دستور عام 2011

بعد انتخابات عام 2010، أعلنت الحكومة الجديدة برئاسة فيكتور أوربان خطط لإعتماد دستور جديد من أجل كسر الماضي الشيوعي لهنغاريا. وإقترحت مسودة الدستور تغيير إسم البلاد من "الجمهورية الهنغارية" إلى "هنغاريا". وقدم مشروع القانون الى البرلمان في 14 مارس 2011 وإعتمده الائتلاف الحاكم في 18 أبريل 2011. وقع في 25 أبريل 2011، ويدخل حيز التنفيذ في 01 يناير 2012. وقد أثيرت بعض المخاوف بشأن الشفافية والإطار الزمني المحدود لعملية صنع الدستور. وجرى أيضاً إنتقاد الاستخدام الواسع النطاق للقوانين العضوية، والتي تتطلب أغلبية الثلثين في البرلمان لتعديلات مستقبلية للقوانين في مجالات معينة، فضلاً عن الديباجة التي ينبغي استخدامها لتفسير الدستور على الرغم من تضمنها عبارات غامضة ومثيرة للجدل.

السلطة التنفيذية

الرئيس والذي يرشح وينتخب من قبل البرلمان كل خمس سنوات، هو القائد العام لقوات الدفاع وله وظيفة فخرية في المقام الأول. ومع ذلك، يمكن للرئيس المبادرة بالقوانين فضلاً عن إجراء استفتاء وطني وحل البرلمان في حال لم تتم الموافقة على الميزانية. ويؤكد على الطابع الملزم للمعاهدات الدولية، يفوض سفراء ومسؤولين آخرين رفيعي المستوى، ولديه حق العفو الفردي وله أن يعلن حالة الحرب أو الطوارئ إذا تم منع البرلمان من اتخاذ القرارات. الرئيس لديه سلطة حق النقض (الفيتو) على القوانين الصادرة عن البرلمان، ويمكنه ممارستها لمرة واحدة. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، يجوز للرئيس أن يرسل القوانين إلى المحكمة الدستورية للوقوف على مدى دستوريتها.

رئيس الوزراء هو رئيس الحكومة ويتم تعيينه من قبل الرئيس بعد الانتخابات من قبل أعضاء البرلمان لمدة أربع سنوات. ومن بين مهماته ترشيح الوزراء والتعريف العام لسياسة الحكومة. ويمكن ان يُحل محله بتصويت لحجب الثقة في البرلمان. واجبات الحكومة ونطاق سلطتها، من ناحية أخرى، تغطي جميع المسائل التي لم تفوض تحديداً إلى سلطة أخرى. ومسموح بانشاء هيئات الإدارة العامة، وإصدار المراسيم وإدارة السلطات المرؤوسة.

السلطة التشريعية

البرلمان أحادي المجلس هو الهيئة العليا للتمثيل الشعبي وينتخب بالاقتراع العام لكل أربع سنوات. قد يحل البرلمان نفسه، ما عدا في حالة الطوارئ أو الأحكام العرفية. ويكلف البرلمان أيضاً بسن تشريعات أو إجراء تعديلات على الدستور، إبرام اتفاقات دولية، إعلان الحرب أو حالة الطوارئ وإحلال السلام، انتخاب رئيس الجمهورية، ورئيس الوزراء ومسؤولين آخرين رفيعي المستوى، وكذلك الموافقة على الموازنة العامة للدولة. يمكن عرض مشاريع القوانين من قبل الرئيس والحكومة واللجان البرلمانية وأعضاء البرلمان. بشكل عام، يتم إتخاذ قرار بالأغلبية البسيطة من الأصوات. وهناك مجالات محددة تخضع لقوانين عضوية، وهذا يعني أن التشريع في تلك المجالات ينبغي الموافقة عليها بأغلبية الثلثين. يتم إرسال القانون الذي تحصل عليه الموافقة الى الرئيس الذي يجب أن يوقع عليه، ويصدر أمراً بنشره في غضون خمسة أيام.

السلطة القضائية

الهيئة القضائية العليا هي المحكمة العليا (الكوريا). مهمتها الرئيسية هي ضمان الاتساق في تطبيق القوانين القضائية من خلال إصدار قرارات ملزمة. يعين القضاة من قبل الرئيس كما هو محدد بموجب قانون عضوي. تصدرالمحكمة العليا قراراتها في المسائل الجنائية والمدنية، وشرعية القرارات الإدارية، والتضارب بين القوانين المحلية مع التشريعات الأخرى وإلغاءها.

المحكمة الدستورية لها ولاية قضائية على جميع المسائل الدستورية. وتستعرض دستورية التشريع والقواعد على النزاعات بين التشريعات الوطنية والمعاهدات الدولية. وعلاوة على ذلك، فإن المحكمة الدستورية هي المختصة في محاولة اجراءات العزل المقدمة من الهيئة التشريعية ضد الرئيس. وفقاً لدستور 2011، لم يعد بإمكان أحد الشروع في إجراءات مراجعة الدستور ضد قانون أعراف بعد صدوره، من دون الحاجة إلى إثبات أنه هو متأثر به حالياً وبشكل مباشر. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، تكون صلاحيات المحكمة الدستورية بشأن مسائل الميزانية والضرائب مقيدة الى حين انخفاض الديون الى ما دون٥٠ بالمئة.

التحديات والمخاوف

  • تحقيق قبول أوسع للدستور في عدد السكان بسبب انعدام الشفافية وعدم كفاية التشاور مع المواطنين الهنغار في هذه العملية.

  • وقد أدى تركيز الدستور الجديد على القيم المسيحية والقومية الى زيادة مخاوف منظمات حقوق الإنسان حول مخاطر التمييز.

  • الديباجة ليست موضحة ببساطة لكن يجوز تفسير أحكام الدستور وفقاً لها. ومع ذلك، فإن نص الديباجة يفتقر الى الدقة ويحتوي على عدد من المفاهيم المثيرة للجدل مثل المراجع الدينية. وهذا يتعارض مع الحياد الإيديولوجي للدولة.

  • إذعان الدستور للعديد من قضايا التنظيم بموجب القانون العضوي، الأمر الذي يتطلب أغلبية مؤهلة من 2/3 من أعضاء البرلمان. في حين أن هذا الشرط ضروري لمنع التغييرات المتكررة وضمان توافق واسع على معظم القوانين، غير أنه يجعل من المستحيل على البرلمان العمل بمرونة لتكييف تشريع مع تغيرات في المجتمع.

  • المفهوم الواسع في الديباجة بأن "تتحمل هنغاريا المسؤولية عن مصير الهنغاريين الذين يعيشون خارج حدودها" قد تصبح مشكلة لسيادة الدول.

  • إقتصار نطاق سلطة المحكمة الدستورية على الميزانية والمسائل الضريبية حتى انخفاض الديون لأقل من 50 بالمئة، ولمجلس الميزانية الجديدة سلطة خاصة للتدخل عندما تقرر المحكمة على دستورية تشريعات الميزانية والضرائب. وعلاوة على ذلك، فعلى المحكمة الان إحترام "مبدأ إدارة متزنة وشفافة ومستدامة للموازنة العامة" عند أداء واجبها. ويمكن تفسير هذا في الطريقة التي تعطي الأولوية للمصالح المالية على التعدي على الحقوق الأساسية.

  • إلغاء مناصب أمين المظالم المعني بالأقليات والمفوض البرلماني لحماية البيانات وحرية المعلومات، والهيئات الخاصة الأخرى ودمجها مع بعضها.

نظام الحكم (بموجب مشروع دستور أبريل، 25 2011)

 

الخط الزمني

1867-1918 الملكية المزدوجة النمساوية - الهنغارية
مارس 21، 1919 تأسيس الجمهورية الاشتراكية الهنغارية.
أغسطس 20، 1949 إعتماد الدستور الهنغاري [القانون رقم 20 لسنة 1949]، استناداً إلى القانون الأساسي السوفيتي لعام 1936.
1956 اندلاع إنتفاضة شعبية تحولت تدريجياً إلى ثورة ضد النظام الشيوعي. وتم سحق الثورة من قبل القوات السوفيتية.
1988 بدء الفترة الانتقالية من الشيوعية الى الديمقراطية.
1989 تعديلات جوهرية على دستور 1949. القانون رقم 31 يحول الدستور الستاليني الى قانون أساسي جديد، ويؤسس لسيادة القانون والديمقراطية.
مارس/أبريل 1990 أول انتخابات حرة بعد 45 سنة؛ إنتصار المنتدى الديمقراطي الهنغاري المحافظ.
نوفمبر 1990 هنغاريا تنضم الى مجلس أوروبا.
ديسمبر 1991 توقيع اتفاقية شراكة مع المفوضية الأوروبية (سارية المفعول منذ 1 فبراير 1994).
مايو 1994 ثاني انتخابات حرة يفوز بها الحزب الاشتراكي الهنغاري.
أبريل 1994 هنغاريا تقدم طلب الانضمام للاتحاد الأوروبي.
نوفمبر 1998 بدء مفاوضات الانضمام للاتحاد الأوروبي.
مارس 1999 هنغاريا تنال عضوية كاملة في منظمة حلف شمال الأطلسي.
2003 استفتاء إيجابي بشأن الانضمام إلى الاتحاد الأوروبي.
مايو 2004 هنغاريا تصبح عضواً في الاتحاد الأوروبي.
أبريل 25، 2011 الرئيس يوقع على الدستور الجديد.
يناير 1، 2012 دخول دستور 2011 حيز التنفيذ.

قائمة المراجع

Constitutional history of Hungary

The Republic of Hungary has a population of about 10 million people and is situated in the middle of Europe. It shares a border with the Czech and Slovak Republics on the north, Ukraine on the north-east, Romania on the east, Serbia and Croatia on the south, Slovenia on the southwest and Austria on the west. After years of communist rule, Hungary became a member of the North Atlantic Treaty Organization in 1999 and joined the European Union in 2004.

Political system

Hungary has a mixed system of government. The head of state is the president and the head of government is the prime minister. The legislative consists of a unicameral Parliament, a body composed of currently 386 members, which is elected every four years. Judicial power is vested in the Supreme Court named “Curia” and the Constitutional Court.

Constitutional history

Hungary was a monarchy for nearly 1,000 years and established a constitutional system earlier than other European countries. After the fall of the Austro-Hungarian empire at the end of World War I, Hungary lost much of its territory and its population. On 21 March 1919, the Hungarian Socialist Republic was established by a coalition of Hungarian Socialist Democratic Party members and communists under the leadership of Béla Kun. In 1932, Gyula Gömbös seized power and established closer ties with Nazi Germany. Following an unsuccessful attempt to change allegiance, Nazi Germany occupied the country in 1943. On 20 January 1945, a provisional government agreed an armistice with the Soviet Union and Hungary was subordinated to an Allied Control Commission with the absolute command vested in a Soviet official.

Constitution of 1949

By 1949, the Hungarian Working People's Party had assumed undisputed control of the country. On 18 August 1949, the current constitution of the Republic of Hungary was adopted. This is the country’s first written constitution. Based on the 1936 Soviet Constitution, it established “The Hungarian People’s Republic”. In the following years, the economy was transformed according to the Soviet model and freedom of press, religion, and assembly were restricted. In the 1949 constitution, the National Assembly formally seemed to be the main actor. In fact, a smaller presidium represented the real operating body. The country’s public law was largely governed by decrees instead of legislation, with the constitution setting few restrictions regarding the content of the decrees.

Amendments of 1989

It was not until the end of communism in 1989 that fundamental changes were made to the 1949 constitution. The adopted amendments transformed Hungary from a people’s republic to a republic, and made Hungary an independent democratic state founded on the rule of law. In contrast to other former communist countries, Hungary did not adopt an entirely new constitution after the end of Communism. However, the Preamble states, that the current constitution serves only as a temporary foundation of government until a new constitution is adopted. The amended constitution gave the legislature the power to control the executive, provided for a multi-party system, and established a constitutional court with the power to review the constitutionality of legal acts. Moreover, a social market economy replaced the former socialist model. From 1989 onwards, several amendments to the constitution took place.

Draft Constitution of 2011

After the elections in 2010, the new government under Victor Orbán announced plans to adopt a new constitution in order to break with Hungary’s communist past. The draft proposes a change of the country’s name from “Hungarian Republic” to “Hungary”. The draft was introduced to Parliament on 14 March 2011 and adopted by the ruling coalition on 18 April 2011. Signed the 25 April 2011, it shall come into effect on 1 January 2012. Some concerns have been raised regarding the transparency and the limited time frame of the constitution-making process. Also, the extensive use of organic laws, requiring a two thirds majority in Parliament for future modifications of laws in certain fields, as well as the Preamble which shall be used for constitutional interpretation although containing potentially controversial and vague statements has been criticised.

Executive

The president, who is nominated and elected by the parliament every five years, is the commander in chief of the defense forces and has a mainly ceremonial function. However, the president can initiate laws as well as a national referendum and dissolve the parliament in case the budget is not approved. He affirms the binding nature of international treaties, accredits ambassadors and other high officials, has the right of individual clemency and may declare a state of war or emergency if the parliament is prevented from making decisions. The president has a power of veto on acts of parliament, which he can exercise once. In addition, the president may send laws to the constitutional court for control of constitutionality.

The Prime Minister is the head of government and is appointed by the president after the election by the members of the parliament for four years. Among his tasks are the nomination of ministers and the general definition of the government’s policy. He can be replaced by a vote of no-confidence of the parliament. The government’s duties and scope of authority, on the other hand, cover all matters not specifically delegated to another authority. It is allowed to establish public administration bodies, issue decrees and manage subordinate authorities.

Legislature

The unicameral parliament is the supreme body of popular representation and elected by universal suffrage for every four years. The parliament may dissolve itself, except during a state of emergency or martial law. The parliament is also charged with enacting legislation or amendments to the constitution, concluding international agreements, declaring war or a state of emergency and making peace, electing the president, the prime minister and other high officials as well as approving the state budget. Bills may be introduced by the president, the government, parliamentary committees and members of parliament. In general, a decision is made by a simple majority of the votes. Specific areas are subject to organic laws, meaning that legislation in those areas has to be passed with a two-thirds majority. An approved act is sent to the president who has to sign it and order its publication within five days.

Judiciary

The supreme judicial body is the supreme court (Curia). Its main task is to ensure uniformity in the judicial application of laws by issuing binding decisions. Judges are appointed by the president as specified by an organic law. The Supreme Court decides on criminal and civil matters, the legitimacy of administrative decisions, the conflict of local ordinances with other legislation and their annulment.

The constitutional court has jurisdiction over all constitutional questions. It reviews the constitutionality of legislation and rules on conflicts between national legislation and international treaties. Moreover, the constitutional court is the competent jurisdiction to try impeachment proceedings brought by the legislature against the president. Under the 2011 constitution, it is no longer possible for anyone to initiate proceedings for constitutional review against a normative act after its enactment, without needing to prove that he is currently and directly affected by it. In addition, the constitutional court’s powers on budget and tax matters are restricted until debt falls below 50%.

Challenges and concerns

  • Achieving a broader acceptance for the constitution in the population due to the lack of transparency and inadequate consultation of the Hungarians in the process.

  • Emphases by the new constitution on Christian and nationalistic values has resulted in concerns from human rights organizations about the risks of discrimination.

  • The preamble is not simply declarative but the constitution’s provisions shall be interpreted in accordance with it. However, the preamble’s text lacks precision and contains a number of controversial notions, e.g. religious references. This conflicts with the ideological neutrality of the state.

  • The constitution defers to many issues for regulation by organic law, which requires a qualified majority of 2/3 of the members of parliament. While this requirement is necessary to prevent frequent changes and ensure broad consensus on most laws, it however makes it impossible for parliament to act flexibly to adapt legislation to changes in society.

  • The wide notion in the preamble that “Hungary shall bear responsibility for the fate for Hungarians living beyond its borders” may become a problem of the sovereignty of the states.

  • The scope of power of the constitutional court on budget and tax matters is restricted until debt falls below 50% and the new Budget Council has special power of intervention when the court decides over the constitutionality of the budget and taxes legislation. Moreover, the court now has to respect the “principle of balanced, transparent and sustainable budget management” when performing its duty. This may be interpreted in a way that prioritizes financial interests over infringements of fundamental rights.

  • The Minority Ombudsman, the Parliamentary Commissioner for Data Protection and Freedom of Information, and other specific bodies, are abolished and merged.

System of government (under the draft Constitution April, 25 2011)

 

Timeline

1867-1918 Austro-Hungarian Dual Monarchy
March 21, 1919 Establishment of the Hungarian Socialist Republic.
Aug 20, 1949 The Hungarian Constitution [The Act No. XX from 1949], based on the 1936 Soviet fundamental law, is adopted.
1956 Popular uprising, which gradually turned into a revolution, broke out against the communist regime. The revolution was crushed by Soviet troops.
1988 The transition period from communism towards democracy began.
1989 Fundamental amendments to the 1949 Constitution. The Act No. XXXI. transforms the Stalinist Constitution in a new fundamental law, establishing the rule of law and democracy.
March/Apr 1990 First free elections after 45 years; Victory of the conservative Hungarian Democratic Forum.
Nov 1990 Hungary joins the Council of Europe.
Dec 1991 Association Agreement signed with the EC (in force since 1 February 1994).
May 1994 Second free elections, won by the Hungarian Socialist Party.
Apr 1994 Hungary applies for EU accession.
Nov 1998 Accession negotiations with the European Union begin.
March 1999 Hungary becomes full member of NATO.
2003 Positive referendum on accession to the EU.
May 2004 Hungary became a member of the EU.
April 25, 2011 New constitution signed by the President.
January 1, 2012 Constitution of 2011 will come into effect.

Bibliography